Saturday in Soho

I’m not going to lie: I can’t remember the last time I slept in past 10 a.m. And yet, there I was, waking up at 1 p.m. this Saturday. But despite my lazy slumber (aka much needed beauty rest from my first week at HGTV), I somehow was able to put myself together in 15 minutes, and I jumped on the quickest train to Soho so I could meet my cousin Heather for lunch.

I almost forgot how much I love Soho. In a different (and much richer) life, I would totally get a place somewhere in Soho and roll in all my money in my big loft. But I guess I have to take what I can get. So Heather and I decided to hit up one of her favorite places, Hampton Chutney Company, where we enjoyed dosas. I had a seasonal dosa with roasted butternut squash, portobello mushrooms, arugula and jack cheese. I added avocado with a side of peanut chutney, and I got a traditional iced chai to drink. This has to be one of my favorite places I’ve eaten at so far in the city: crispy, nutritious, and flavorful. These dosas had it all.

IMG_7551IMG_7549

Next, we took a detour to Chinatown and Little Italy. We grabbed some bubble tea at Kung Fu Tea. And we finished the afternoon off by hitting up West Broadway and walking to Laduree. Despite not being a groupie of Laduree (because let’s be honest, mass produced macarons just aren’t the same as the macarons made with tender love and care), I had to pick up a few to fulfill my macaron cravings. And also, their shops have the cutest aesthetic.

 

IMG_7554IMG_7556IMG_7557

IMG_7566

God, I love Soho.

 

 

Leave a Reply

