Dessert First: Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Getting back into the school routine is challenging (also apparently the blogging routine. I don’t want to talk about how late this post is). I’ve found that on Tuesdays and Thursdays, my class schedule is rigorous, forcing me to bring snacks for the entire day. If I don’t properly fuel myself with a good breakfast, my stomach starts growling less than an hour into my first class of the day.

This week, that changed. I decided I needed to find a simple recipe that would prepare a week full of meals for quick breakfasts I can pop in my backpack for on-the-go, or quickly grab while I’m rushing to get dressed in the morning.

Of course, my constant problem with breakfast foods is my desire for sweetness. It should come as no surprise to most people that the Macaron Queen herself has the world’s worst sweet tooth. Unfortunately though, most of the easy breakfasts to make can be rather savory: scrambled eggs, bagels with cream cheese, sausage and bacon. Given, there are plenty of options for the sugar-obsessed as well. But I’m tired of how repetitive parfaits, fruit salads, and artificial cereals become in the morning time. I wish I had time to make delicious crepes or waffles every morning – but the time commitment cannot simply be met.

Enter: mini homemade cinnamon rolls.

These are a lifesaver. They’re fun to make, easy to prep, and incredibly addictive.

I found this recipe on Pinterest when I was searching for dessert recipes. I love that they’re tiny, so you can make lots at a time. As well, they taste delicious warmed up in the microwave or cold straight out of the refrigerator. Can you say “win-win?”

I highly recommend these to the average sweet tooth college students like me, with really any experience level of baking. These morning treats are worth the 15 minutes of your Sunday night, and you’ll be thanking yourself all week long (unless you eat them in one sitting).

 

Mini Homemade Cinnamon Rolls with Maple-Vanilla Icing

Makes about 8 cinnamon rolls; source: Iowa Girl Eats

 

Ingredients:

 

For the Cinnamon Rolls:IMG_0412

  • 1 tube of crescent roll dough
  • Ground cinnamon
  • Light brown sugar
  • 1-2 Tbs butter

 

 

 

 

 

For the Icing:IMG_0421

  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbs milk (I used 1%)
  • 1 tsp syrup (the original recipe calls for maple syrup, but let’s be honest: I’m a cheap college student. Regular syrup is just fine)
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon to taste

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven according to the package of crescent rolls. Mine said 375 and it baked to perfection
  2. Lay flat four of the eight crescent roll pieces onto a clean, floured counter.
  3. Match the pieces to create a rectangle and pinch together the seams. Flip, and pinch on the other side as well
  4. Take a rolling pin and flatten out the rectangle.
  5. Melt the butter in the microwave and then brush (I used a spatula) to spread an even coat of butter all over the dough
  6. Sprinkle the dough with cinnamon and brown sugar to preference
  7. Carefully begin rolling the shorter side of the rectangle. I stopped every few seconds to spread butter on the roll to make sure the cinnamon and sugar continued sticking.
  8. Once the dough is rolled into a cylindrical shape, cut into six pieces. Tip: I did six pieces because I only have a 6 muffin tin tray. But you can cut them according to how bite-sized you wish the cinnamon rolls to turn out.
  9. Place the mini cinnamon rolls onto a greased muffin tin and bake according to package. Mine cooked in 13 minutes.
  10. While the cinnamon rolls are baking, whisk together all the ingredients for the maple-vanilla icing.
  11. Once the cinnamon rolls have baked, pop them out of the muffin tin and drizzle with the maple-vanilla icing. I then stored mine in a Tupperware in the fridge.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

